The Beauty of Re-Reading

I had a couple books on my TBR list this month…And well, due to inordinate amount of stress (it’s nearing university deadlines, isn’t it?) – I just cannot deal with that list at the moment.

So let’s just say I’ve thrown that list out of the window and picked up a book I’ve already read and enjoyed.

This is the beauty of re-reading.

I love re-reading and I don’t always do it when I’m stressed. It’s great after a reading slump. It’s wonderful as a break between hard, complicated books. I may re-read when I’m sad, when I’m angry, when I’m bored and none of the books I haven’t read are appealing to me at the moment.

I’m currently re-reading the Demon Child trilogy and I’m up to Treason Keep, book two. It has helped me feel more relaxed and I wind down easier before bed after a day of studying and working and overall shitty life things.

My favorite author to re-read is Juliet Marillier. I try to reread at least one of her books every year – I think this year I want to read her Bridei Chronicles again.

Other favorites include Magician by Raymond E Feist, A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett and several fantasy books I’ve enjoyed in my teen years.

And I’m making my through the Harry Potter series once again this year.

Of course re-reading isn’t always a great idea. There have been books that I have re read, wondering if I’ll enjoy them just as much as I once did – and end up seriously questioning my old taste in books.

But that’s just part of the fun of re-reading.


Do you re-read? And which books do you keep on returning back to?

One thought on “The Beauty of Re-Reading

  1. I am a huge re-reader as well. My go to (outside of the yearly Harry Potter re-read) are East by Edith Pattou, On Fortune’s Wheel by Cynthia Voigt, A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle, and Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine. I typically re-read anything I love but those are the books I feel myself reaching for when I need comfort. Sorry to be so late responding, I love your “voice” and wit to your blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

