Classics Book Tag

I’ve been thinking about classics a lot lately, so let’s do a tag!

An over-hyped classic you really didn’t like?

I’d have to give it to The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson. A funny choice as I have enjoyed retellings of the classic. But I think the main reasons I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would was because 1) the writing wasn’t for me and 2) I already knew the twist. I didn’t hate the book, but I was disappointed.

Favorite time period to read about?

I cannot really name one, I love reading about all sorts of time periods. If you looked at the classics I have read you might judge the Victorian era is for me – which I did enjoy but wouldn’t exactly say is my favorite. So I’ll just say I’m interested in reading more medieval fiction like The Canterbury Tales and Greek literature such as Daphnis and Chloe.

Favorite fairy-tale?

I used to have a fairytale book as a child that I would read several times a month and the one story I kept coming back to was The Little Match Girl by Hans Christian Anderson. It’s a rather bleak and sad story, but it ends on a tone of hope and I love it dearly.

Which classic are you most embarrassed by having not read it yet?

I don’t think you should be embarrassed by what you haven’t read – there are so many books in the world after all! But to satiate this question I might say it is 1984 by George Orwell. I love dystopian novels.

Top 5 classics you would like to read (soon)?

  • Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
  • Moll Flanders by Daniel Defoe
  • Orlando by Virginia Woolf
  • Tess of the d’Ubervilles by Thomas Hardy
  • The Painted Veil by W. Somerset Maugham

Favorite modern book/series based on a classic?

I haven’t read many books based off a classic but I did enjoy Mary Bennet by Jennifer Paynter. It tells the story of Mary, one of the Bennet sisters from Pride and Prejudice. It’s a fun little story with a dash of wit, bookish-ness and romance.

Favorite movie version/tv-series based on a classic?

If you are looking for a political-driven mini series with the most gorgeous romance ever than look no further than North and South. Basically – Richard Armitage is so wonderful.

Worst classic to movie adaptation?

The Hobbit. I enjoyed it but I felt the story suffered for being expanded into three films. At least I still have Richard Armitage in this to drool over.

Favorite edition(s) you’d like to collect more classics from?

Puffin In Bloom.

Penguin Classics Deluxe Editions

An under-hyped classic you’d recommend to everyone?

The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte. Anne Bronte is often overshadowed by her sisters, but I think The Tenant of Wildfell Hall might be my favorite Bronte novel. It’s mysterious, has beautiful prose and feminist subtext.


So how would you answer these questions?

Leave a Reply

