Notes on a Bookclub: Vaginal Fantasy

Today I want to talk to you about a wonderful little bookclub (open to all on Goodreads) called Vaginal Fantasy. The name is…a bit out there, but a great conversation starter if anyone asks me if I’m in any bookclubs. Ah, the face of abhorrence and surprise – brilliant!

I’ve been a member of this group since 2012, a group led by four awesome internet ladies: Felicia Day, Veronica Belmont, Kiala Kazebee and Bonnie Burton. Each have a wicked sense of humor and a skill for discussing oily chests, tiny wine, descriptors for genitalia and relating this all back to Benedict Cumberbatch. Sort of.

If you haven’t guessed it already, the type of books the bookclub reads are generally within the speculative genre/mostly female-centric. Although this can bend a little bit – mostly for some really interesting picks.

I haven’t read all the books – some can be pretty terrible. There is one that comes to mind – Eternal Pleasure (dinosaur romance?!) But it’s incredibly fun to watch the hosts dissect and mock these particular picks.

Although the best part is discussing these books through local hangouts. I formed my main bookclub through the awesome Australians who attended the Vaginal Fantasy Google Hangouts.

Basically – I’m encouraging you to try it out! And I will do this by discussing some of my favorite books that have been picked.

Fortune’s Pawn (Paradox #1) by Rachel Bach

This is the kind of book I found that a lot of people adored and so came to be addicted to the Paradox series. Fortune’s Pawn is an awesome space opera about a mercenary called Devi. It’s fast paced – rollicking with romance, adventure, humor, and weird space powers.

The Lions of Al-Rassan by Guy Gavriel Kay

A big complex novel wide in scope and themes, The Lions of Al Rassan is that historical epic that is easy to drool over. Set in a country similar to medieval Spain – the novel is oozing with wonderful world building, characters and deadly politics. I also loved the fleshed out, awesome female characters in this.

Kushiel’s Dart (Kushiel’s Universe #1) by Jacqueline Carey

I feel like I need to read this novel again – I yearn for the beautiful, evocative descriptions of a world so dark and complex. If you are like me and love deeply political books with back stabbing and mystery – you’ll love this. And at the center, Kushiel the courtesan spy – a wonderful character through and through. I can understand why this novel is often touted as one of the best fantasy novels of all time.


Hope you enjoyed this post!

You can check Vaginal Fantasy out through these links:

Goodreads Group
Youtube Channel

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

