Top 5 Books of 2015

Happy new year! I’m hoping you are enjoying it so far – with plenty of reading and culture consuming. Me? I’ve had a lazy start, but I’m trying a few new things: journaling, looking after a cat, trying those famous freakshakes…

12552913_10206655966292678_5689317465272361614_n
Mhmm, nutella…

But I think you are here for something different? Yes? Books. Books. Books. And the books I enjoyed in 2015.

I read a total of 110 books in 2015, a new best for me and one I will not be beating anytime soon. I read a nice mix – although there were a few too many duds. But I also found a few new favorites, ones that I’ll likely re read over and over again. Now let me show you:

The Final Empire (Mistborn #1) by Brandon Sanderson

It was nice returning to the kind of books I devoured as a teenager. Epic fantasy. Wonderful worldbuilding. Endearing characters. And a kind of magic I hadn’t encountered before: using metal as a conduit for different types of power.

Voyage of the Basilisk (Lady Trent #3) by Marie Brennan

This series only gets better and better. I love the character of Lady Trent, an adventurer navigating her way through Victorian- inspired society, studying dragons, encountering vastly different cultures and all sorts of mischief. Plus Voyage of the Basilisk was so epic and exhilarating – riding a…? I’ll let you figure out that one.

You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) by Felicia Day

I love Felicia Day. She is such a wonderful, funny person who I cannot help but watch all the content she creates. This is no different. This memoir follows her life towards becoming an actor, writer, producer, entrepreneur, internet idol and the list goes on and on and on. It made me laugh, but it also made me cry. And I heartily enjoyed the heck out of it.

The Just City by Jo Walton

It turns out I love fantasy novels about philosophy – especially if they are penned by Jo Walton. This is a wonderful novel about a Greek Goddess creating an ideal city that is governed by the notion of justness. And yet…The city isn’t entirely perfect. Also I freaking loved Socrates in this.

Cinnamon and Gunpowder by Eli Brown

A female pirate kidnapping a chef to cook her fabulous feasts? Yes please, sign me up! This is a brilliant, fun adventure novel with lovely characters and wonderful conversations over dinner. It made my heart swell with joy and I loved it so much, it was definitely my favorite novel of 2015.

So what were your favorite novels of 2015?

One thought on “Top 5 Books of 2015

Leave a Reply

